car safety seat program

  • Car Safety Seat Program 

Car Safety Seat Program

Programa de Asientos de Seguridad Para Niños

Call us to set up a car safety seat check and learn how to install it the RIGHT way!

Llámenos para hacer una cita para revisar su asiento y para aprender a instalarlo correctamente.

 Low-income families residing in west Sonoma County are welcome to participate in this low-cost program. Certified Car Safety Seat Technicians will conduct safety seat checks and will train in their proper installation. New car seats are available for $20 as needed. Booster seats for older children/larger children are also available at a lesser cost.

Las familias de bajos ingreso que residen en el oeste del Condado de Sonoma son bienvenidas a participar en este programa de bajo costo. Técnicos Certificados revisarán su instalación y proveeran entrenamiento para la instalación correcta. Los asientos están disponibles a $20 cada uno. Asientos Booster para nińos mayores cuestan menos.

 CAR SEAT SAFETY UPDATE from CHP
https://www.chp.ca.gov/programs-services/programs/child-safety-seats
Current California Law:
Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat. (California Vehicle Code Section 27360.)

​Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
Children who are 8 years of age OR have reached 4’9” in height may be secured by a booster seat, but at a minimum must be secured by a safety belt. (California Vehicle Code Section 27363.)
Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California's Mandatory Seat Belt law.  

When can a child graduate to a booster seat?
California law does not address graduation time from a five point harness to a booster seat. In the interest of safety, do not rush to move a child into a booster seat before they’re ready. Each time you “graduate” your child to the next seat, there’s a reduction in the level of protection for your child. Keep your child in each stage for as long as possible.
A child is ready for a booster seat when they have outgrown the weight or height limit of their forward-facing harnesses, which is typically between 40 and 65 pounds. Read the forward-facing car seat’s owner’s manual to determine height and weight limits, and keep your child in a harnessed seat for as long as possible.
Children at this stage are not yet ready for adult safety belts and should use belt-positioning booster seats until they are at least 4’9″ and between 8 and 12 years old. Safety belts are designed for 165-pound male adults, so it’s no wonder that research shows poorly fitting adult belts can injure children.

Cambios en la ley de Asientos de Seguridad

ACTUALIZACIÓN DE SEGURIDAD DEL ASIENTO COCHE de CHP
https://www.chp.ca.gov/programs-services/programs/child-safety-seats
Ley actual de California:
Los niños menores de 2 años de edad deben viajar en un asiento de seguridad orientado hacia atrás a menos que el niño pese 40 o más libras O tenga 40 o más pulgadas de alto. El niño debe estar asegurado de manera que cumpla con los límites de altura y peso especificados por el fabricante del asiento para el automóvil. (Código de Vehículos de California, Sección 27360.)

Los niños menores de 8 años deben estar asegurados en un asiento para el automóvil o asiento elevador en el asiento trasero.
Los niños que tienen 8 años de edad O que han alcanzado 4'9 "de altura pueden asegurarse con un asiento elevador, pero como mínimo deben estar asegurados con un cinturón de seguridad. (Código de Vehículos de California, Sección 27363.)
Los pasajeros mayores de 16 años están sujetos a la ley de cinturones de seguridad obligatorios de California.

¿Cuándo puede un niño graduarse en un asiento elevador?
La ley de California no aborda el tiempo de graduación de un arnés de cinco puntos a un asiento elevador. Por razones de seguridad, no se apresure a mover al niño a un asiento elevador antes de que estén listos. Cada vez que "gradúes" a tu hijo al próximo asiento, hay una reducción en el nivel de protección de tu hijo. Mantenga a su hijo en cada etapa durante el mayor tiempo posible.
Un niño está listo para un asiento elevador cuando ya han superado el límite de peso o altura de sus arneses orientados hacia adelante, que generalmente es entre 40 y 65 libras. Lea el manual del propietario del asiento de automóvil orientado hacia adelante para determinar los límites de altura y peso, y mantenga a su hijo en un asiento con arnés el mayor tiempo posible.
Los niños en esta etapa aún no están listos para usar cinturones de seguridad para adultos y deben usar asientos elevadores con posicionamiento de cinturón hasta que midan al menos 4'9 "y entre 8 y 12 años. Los cinturones de seguridad están diseñados para hombres adultos de 165 libras, por lo que no es de extrañar que la investigación muestre que los cinturones de los adultos que no se ajustan bien pueden lesionar a los niños.

 Call us at 707.869.3613  or email  info@rccservices.org

 Download the flyercarseatnewjuly15.jpg

 

River to Coast Childrens Servicecs Follow us on Facebook

home  ·  about us  ·  services  ·  resources  ·  child care  ·  news  ·  events

for parents  ·  for child care providers  ·  donate  ·  contact us  ·  sponsors  ·  connect with us  ·  terms & privacy

Copyright 2016 River to Coast Children's Services (RCCS)
16300 First Street (PO Box 16), Guerneville, CA 95446  ·  Tel: (707) 869-3613  ·  Fax: (707) 869-2616